New members admitted to Faculty

01 Jul


TWENTY new members were admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in calling ceremonies held last week.

They were admitted as members of Faculty by Dean of Faculty Roddy Dunlop KC and admitted to the public office of advocate by Lord Lake and Lord Braid.

The new members are Gavin Dingley, Alannah McGinley, Rebecca Osborne, Louise Jardine, Louis Bendle, Martin Lennon, Donald Mackay, Jamie McGowan, Alan Innes, Ross Crawford, Kirsty Shaw, Amelia Mah, Iona Young, Morag McEwan, Shaun McPhee, Sean White, Paul Keenan, Mairi-Clare McMillan, Linzi McQuade, and Richard Goddard KC.

Addressing the new members Mr Dunlop said: “You join a profession that is fundamental to the administration of justice in this country.

 Admission as an advocate in Scotland was not simply a license to practise, he said, but also admission to a public office recognised in statute at least since 1532 which was the formation of the College of Justice. Since then, Faculty has become a central part of the Scottish legal system.

“You join Faculty at a time when the rule of law is under attack both domestically and internationally. This independent referral bar – like all independent referral bars – is a bulwark against injustice and oppression.

“You join an institution that I am fiercely proud to lead at a time of challenge but also at a time of opportunity. I am delighted that you have chosen this path in your careers, and I wish you every success therein,” said Mr Dunlop.