New QCs announced

18 Sep


EIGHT members of Faculty have been awarded Silk, it has been announced by the Judicial Office for Scotland.

Those awarded the rank of Queen’s Counsel are: Isla Davie, C Euan Duthie, Matt Jackson, Neil Mackenzie, Fred Mackintosh, Michael Meehan, Claire Mitchell and Astrid Smart.

A solicitor-advocate, Liam Ewing, has also become a QC.

The appointments are made by Her Majesty the Queen on the recommendation of First Minister Nicola Sturgeon. Nominations for the honour are made to the First Minister by the Lord Justice General, who consults other judges, the Lord Advocate, the Dean of Faculty and the President of the Law Society of Scotland.

The Faculty now has 132 practising QCs, of whom 30 are women.

The announcement is here